Alumnus Edward Szandzik '80 selected as new Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists executive vice president

Reprinted from Michigan Pharmacists Association

The Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists Board of Directors has selected former Michigan Pharmacists Association President and Henry Ford Health Vice President, Pharmacy, Edward G. Szandzik, RPh, MBA, FASHP, to be its executive vice president, effective immediately. His term follows that of Dianne Malburg, RPh, vice president of pharmacy for HomeTown Pharmacy in New Era, Mich., who served in the role for four years.

Ed Szandzik
Edward G. Szandzik '80, RPh, MBA, FASHP

"MSHP has been a meaningful part of my life, and I am honored to have the opportunity to help lead an organization that has been so instrumental in promoting safe, effective and economic medication use throughout Michigan's hospitals and other organized health care settings, and in advancing the profession," Szandzik said. "I am very familiar with the challenges and opportunities we face in our profession and look forward to helping the MSHP Board execute its strategic objectives and maximize the contributions of MSHP members."

Szandzik, of Grosse Pointe Woods, received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy in 1980 and Master of Business Administration in 1986 from Wayne State University, where he is also an adjunct professor of pharmacy practice. Szandzik serves on numerous committees and boards at HFH and has published and lectured extensively throughout his career. He is a past chair of the Michigan Hospital Association Hospital Pharmacy Management Committee, member of the Premier Academic Innovators Committee and former member of the WSU Pharmacy Alumni Association Board of Governors. Szandzik was recognized as a fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in 2013 and served as MPA president in 2012. He received the 2012 ASHP Foundation Pharmacy Practice Research Literature Award, the 2009 MSHP Joseph A. Oddis Leadership Award and the 2007 Distinguished Alumni Award from the WSU Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, among others. In 2020, he was named Michigan Pharmacist of the Year. He has been a member of ASHP for more than 35 years and a member of MSHP/MPA since 1986.

"Ed has been a dedicated trailblazer, mentor and esteemed colleague in the small community of Michigan health-system pharmacy for many years," said MSHP President Shawna Kraft, PharmD, BCOP. "His leadership acumen, substantial experience and personal integrity make him an obvious choice for this important role. The MSHP Board is excited to welcome him to the team and looking forward to continuing the important work of the organization with his support and partnership."

The EVP is an independent contractor hired by the MSHP Board of Directors for a three-year term. The responsibilities of the EVP include acting as the primary contact with ASHP, serving as secretary to the MSHP Board and its committees, coordinating and facilitating planning and leadership events and opportunities, acting as MSHP historian, working with MPA staff, and supporting the MSHP Board in executing its goals and objectives. MSHP, a practice section of MPA, is governed by a board of directors and supported by a committee structure and regional societies. It is an affiliated chapter of ASHP.

← Back to listing